The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin

THE FALL AND RISE OF REGINALD PERRIN Reggie is still weary and frustrated with life. Disillusioned with the business world, he abandoned his Grot Empire, and took to the south coast once more, but was not alone. Needing a purpose in life, he decides it is better to be bored with money than bored without, so rejoins the rat race to sell Grot and retire gracefully? Not Reggie. He decided to open a commune helping people to live in peace and harmony, and recruits all the familiar faces to help. Perrins is born. Following an extensive advertising campaign - I didn't get where I am today without knowing that 'Perrins' is the best thing since sliced bread - things begin to pick up and the guest list of one doubles. When business begins to boom, worry and tension become a thing of the past, and Reggie begins to relax. But for how long? It starts to head downhill when valuables start to disappear and one of the female guests starts suggesting extra curricular activities with the male staff. When the cook, McBlane, takes a meat cleaver to a woman from the Salvation Army and there is a backlash against Perrins peacekeeping force, the writing is on the wall. As Perrins closes its doors and everyone says their farewells, Reggie is offered a new job but is shocked to find himself working no only for CJ but his brother FJ. Is the Dorset coast calling once more? Priced 12.99 on VHS and 15.99 on DVD this is excellent value for money for the series. That said, the whole six episodes are on the one DVD disc, and as such, there appears to be a little too much compression in places. The picture suffers no more than the old VHS copies that I had on tape (in fact the picture is much less grainy than those), but the movement can appear wispy in places. This is not the first disc that I have encountered this on though - The Blackadder discs suffered from this in places - so it looks as though this is the trade off for having so much on one disc. Luckily there are no extras on the disc as this would affect it even more, but the menu is simple and effective and, all in all, Second Sight have turned in a really good performance to keep these titles well within everyone's budgets.

SERIES 1 | 2 | 3 | Specials

Series One.

TitleTX DateNotes
Acting Strangely8.9.76
On Safari15.9.76
Sunday With Joan22.9.76
Dinner Party29.9.76
The Speech6.10.76
In Disguise13.10.76
In Memorium20.10.76

Series Two.

TitleTX DateNotes
The Return21.9.77
"The Affair"28.9.77
"Pig Farm"5.10.77
"New Staff"19.10.77
"Unsuitable Candidates"26.10.77
"Attempted Sabotage"2.11.77

Series Three.

TitleTX DateNotes
"Full Circle"24.1.79